Round 2 White Counts

My white counts did go down again one week after round 2’s chemo treatment.  Even more dangerously so this time.

My oncologist is not an alarmist so when he told me that a 0.5 put me at risk of a life threatening infection and my count was even lower at 0.4, I had to rethink my previous vow to never take Neupegon shots.

I am not doing all of this treatment to die from a stupid infection, sounds like an easy choice, but it still wasn’t.  It took 24 hours for me to head my head around it.  I didn’t sleep all night and then slept until 3pm the next day as I tried to wrestle and then give up on wrestling with the notion that I was signing up for more pain.  I only did one shot and managed the slicing needle-in-bone pain with anti-inflammatories.  Since it was one shot and not 3 in a row the pain was significantly less.

I am happy to share that the counts falling worked out much better than last time. This is especially good news because it is likely that my counts will continue to drop after each treatment and now I know that I can deal with it.

About tatumderoeck1111

Welcome to my new blog. When I found out I had breast cancer I threw a 'Drinks and Positivity' party. I wanted to keep the drinking (although my drink of choice in the future might be a healthy smoothie) and Positivity going, so I started this blog to keep everyone in the loop.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

