Technical Stuff

Here is the technical scoop on my current breast cancer diagnosis for those of you who have been asking.

The tests so far show a stage 2 invasive ductal carcinoma moderately differenciated.

In English this is good news. If it is what they think, it is curable.

Over the next week or two I will be having a number of tests to confirm these findings to make sure the cancer has not spread.

I will be doing a bilateral breast MRI, a whole body PetCT scan,  blood tests, genetic BRACA and a FISH test will be coming back soon.  I know the FISH test sounds odd especially as I don’t eat them, but what it tests is how aggressive the cancer is.  Lets hope its pretty chill!

Treatment Options

If the diagnosis is confirmed by the new tests then I am a candidate for a lumpectomy.  (This is good when considering the other options)

I have a choice of starting chemotherapy first and shrinking the lump before the surgery.  Then the doctors can see how it reacts to chemo before taking it out.  This is one of several possibilities.

I will post the results of the tests and let you now how this all progresses.

About tatumderoeck1111

Welcome to my new blog. When I found out I had breast cancer I threw a 'Drinks and Positivity' party. I wanted to keep the drinking (although my drink of choice in the future might be a healthy smoothie) and Positivity going, so I started this blog to keep everyone in the loop.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

